fifty shades of…

There is currently much to do about the movie, Fifty Shades of Grey, as there was about the novel of the same name by E L James. Yesterday I read in a daily newspaper of women, many in their middle age, who are flocking to see the film.

A year of two ago in my teaching workplace, which comprises mainly women, the topic over morning tea and lunch was, ‘Have you read…’ and further discussion and tittering re the said text.

I have not read the novel and do not intend to see the film, or, God help us, their sequels. I’m afraid my ‘delicate disposition’ would not allow me to sit through either.

Since God said to Adam and Eve, ‘Go forth and multiply’, people have had a fetish with sex. And I guess this is no exception.

What I find particularly disturbing about these works and others like them is the way the interaction between men and women, initiated by God, has been hideously corrupted and demeaned: that interaction meant to be a picture of the beautiful relationship between Christ and his church.

I dread to think that young people are exposed to this sort of drivel or that these might one day become required reading and/or viewing in schools and universities.

How far we have fallen when women have to read a miserable book or run off to the movies to find a sense of satisfaction, perhaps a sense of meaning and purpose, in their lives.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

