‘happy’ international women’s day has come and gone …

… with what effect?

I reckon it makes women of privilege, of which I am one, feel pretty good about themselves to say ‘happy International Women’s Day’ to each other, not that I personally greeted, or was greeted by, anyone thus.

I reckon that we women of privilege are a fairly small minority in the wider world. I’m sure that the vast majority of women in the world were probably not so ‘happy’. In fact, from my understanding of women’s things globally, many women are just fighting to survive, or struggling to put food into the mouths of their children, or cowering in the face of ever present ridicule, violence, mutilation and subjugation, much of which is the result of ‘religious’ teaching.

Even in our politically sensitive country of Australia, we women cringed recently when our ‘first man’ (I hesitate to call him ‘gentleman’) demeaned Asian women during a speech in which he was supposedly encouraging men to get checked for prostate cancer.

The Bible knows nothing of the subjugation and belittling of women. It knows nothing of violence against women in its teachings.

In fact, we are taught that the kingdom of God knows nothing but equality between all people, regardless of gender or race or class.

 … for in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith. For as many of you as were baptised into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. (Galatians 3:26-28)

Of course, there is a qualifier here: all those who are ‘in Christ’. But I reckon that when any person comes before the judgement seat of Christ, their gender, race or class will not be considered, only their unrepented sin. So the concept of equality relates to everyone in our world.

My conclusion? While I feel deeply for the masses of women in our world who are not as privileged as I, in Christ, I am one ‘happy’ woman … 24/365.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

