a treasured possession

For you are a people holy to the Lord your God. The Lord your God has chosen you to be a people for his treasured possession, out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth. Deuteronomy 7:6

We all have our treasured possessions.

I have my husband – he is my dearest treasure. I have my children and grandchildren who are worth more to me than life.

I have my engagement and wedding rings which are with me at all times. I have another ring given to me by my mother, one of two rings remodelled from the engagement and wedding rings from her marriage to my father, and my grandmother’s engagement and wedding rings. My sister has its twin.

I have a necklace given to me by my husband when our first child was born. I have a bangle given to me by one of my daughters.

Then there are the various treasures given to me by my grandchildren: the little wall plaque with the inscription ‘Nanas are flowers in the garden of love’ given to me by Ben, and my tea candle holder that Josef gave to me for my birthday. I have various pictures and letters drawn and written by other grandies.

But to think that I am a treasured possession of the King of kings and the Lord of lords. When I consider that I am so unworthy of the love of my Lord Jesus Christ, yet he chose me to be one of his children and he remembers his promise to forgive me for my sins and to work all things together for my good.

He remembers his promise to never leave me nor forsake me – I am never alone.

These words from Deuteronomy in the Bible would have to be some of the most comforting words ever uttered. There is nothing more reassuring than knowing that you are loved and treasured by the almighty and sovereign God.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

One thought on “a treasured possession”

Leave a Reply

