eveline

When mothers of Salem their children brought to Jesus
The stern disciples drove them back and bade them to depart
But Jesus saw them ere they fled and sweetly smiled and kindly said
“Suffer little children to come unto Me.”

“For I will receive them and fold them to My bosom
I’ll be a shepherd to these lambs, O drive them not away
For if their hearts to Me they give, they shall with Me in glory live
Suffer little children to come unto Me.”

Yesterday I received a phone call from my little not quite two year old granddaughter. She had taken the mobile phone to her mother, held it up to her saying, ‘Nanna, Nanna.’

At first, I thought she must have been playing with the phone and accidently pressed my number, but no, her call was very deliberate. Our conversation was a little unintelligible at first, until I started to ask questions to which she responded reasonably well, with the help of Mum.

Little Evie is such a treasure. I love it how her favourite grace ditty is “Who is the King of the jungle: oo, oo, oo” (monkey sound while beating the chest).

Children are also treasured by Jesus. I am reminded of the old children’s hymn above which is based on the Luke 18 passage:

Now they were bringing even infants to him that he might touch them. And when the disciples saw it, they rebuked them. But Jesus called them to him, saying, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”

It is so important to love and nurture our children, but it is equally important to teach them about Jesus Christ so that when they are older, they will have the opportunity to love Christ as he loves them.

When mothers of Salem Elaine and Derek

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

