new year’s resolutions

Let your yes be yes and your no be no James 5:12

In all my years on this earth, I cannot remember ever having made a new year’s resolution. I have never really seen the point, and maybe I know myself too well.

Come to think of it, I cannot pin-point anyone I know who has made one and yet there is always so much talk of new year’s resolutions every year.

To make a new year’s resolution work, one must be disciplined which takes so much effort, perseverance and memory. Let’s face it, one does have to remember not to buy that packet of cigarettes or load up the shopping trolley with bucket loads of sweet stuff.

Plain speaking and plain living is an imperative in God’s economy. We either do it or we don’t. We should not make promises or half promises if we know we do not have the capacity to keep them.

Far better to keep the habit than try to quit or change knowing we do not have the determination to see the resolution through to the very end.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

