if I was God

And God saw everything that he had made,
and behold, it was very good.

If I was God, I would change the world.

I would zap the swords and guns and cannons and tanks and land mines and war planes and weapons of mass destruction.

I would take the Hitlers, the Gaddafis, the Idi Amins, the Kim Jong Ils and give them new thoughts so they would not crave power and wealth at the expense of those who question their evil authority.

I would change the minds of the Jim Joneses, the Jack the Rippers, the kidnappers, abusers and molesters of children and women. I would destroy the chemicals and drugs that control and distort the minds of young people. I would provide the necessary work for idle hands so old ladies can keep their handbags and hard-working people their possessions. Old people will live in safety and with dignity.

The family home would be made the safest place in the world, along with the mother’s womb.

I would do away with cancer, typhoid, malaria; all diseases that kill and maim. I would send rain and do away with drought and famine. I would even do away with ‘nature, red in tooth and claw’.

There would be no wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy or gluttony.

I would give hearts of warm flesh where there are hearts of cold stone.

If I was God and I did all this, what would be the response?

Adam and Eve had all this and more, yet they turned their back on the God who provided them with all things necessary for a good, fruitful and happy life.

If I was God, I would get no thanks, only people saying to me, “Why have you made me thus?” “I want to exercise my will,” they would say.

If I was God and I changed the world resulting in little or no gratitude or credit from those who would benefit, I would be highly offended. I would … well … I am not God.

But God was offended. A read of the first three chapters of Genesis will tell us how God dealt with our insult and his indignation. A read of John chapter three will reveal God’s gracious response to our lack of gratitude and rebellion.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

One thought on “if I was God”

Leave a Reply

