ephesians 1

He chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.

ephesians 1For my birthday this year, Benny, my little six year old grandson, chose two gifts for me which I treasure. One was a beautiful blue dragonfly fridge magnet. The other, a plaque which states: “Nanas are flowers in the garden of love.” That is very cute.

Cuter still was Benny’s inscription in the card that accompanied the gifts: “Dear Nanna, I love you when the earth was created and now I love you on your birthday.”

I think the sentiment is that Benny loves me no matter what and for all time. Out of the mouths of babes … as the saying goes.

What a great truth that sentiment signifies. I know Benny was not there at the creation of the earth, but God was. In fact, before the creation of the world God knew me and predestined me to be one of his adopted children. I was chosen by God to fulfil his purpose and his will here on the earth he created.

I wonder why he chose me. I really have nothing that would endear me to the almighty God. Rather, I know I have done everything in my power to thwart God’s designs for me, including dedicating my life to the service of Satan in one of my weaker moments when I was a teenager.

God’s purposes, however, will not be frustrated. Despite my best efforts, here I am, a child of God enjoying the blessings of his kingdom forever in his love … and in Benny’s.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

