my place

The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.

Verses 5 and 6 of Psalm 16 to me are just the epitome of what God does for his people and who he is to his people. God is faithful to me: he chose me, he saved me and he sustains me. Even more than that, he has placed me in a wonderful place – “the lines have fallen for me in pleasant places”. The boundaries have been set for me. My place, my ‘citizenship’, is in heaven.

When I look at the world in which we live, there is nature: famines, floods, fires, earthquakes, tsunamis. Then there are people: wars, tyrant leaders, corrupt governments and organisations, whackos who call themselves Christian, Muslim, religious whatever, who blow up, shoot, kill, maim, rape, pillage… all in the name of their ‘god’, or themselves, which is really the same thing. Not what I call a pleasant place.

The place in which my God, the Yahweh of the Old Testament in the Bible, Jesus Christ of the New Testament, has placed me knows nothing of these things. He takes his people and places them in a position of safety and peace – not the ‘safety’ and ‘peace’ of this world, but that of the kingdom of God, the place of which Jesus spoke when he said, “My kingdom is not of this world.” It is not a place of violence and jostling to gain the upper hand and power over others. It is a place where I can rest in the knowledge that Christ is King of kings and I am his subject.

On a personal level, as a wife, mother and grandmother, a teacher, a business woman, an ex-sportsperson and all that goes with life in general, the mind and the body have suffered with age (not that I am that old) and the results of a misspent youth. The physical aches and pains, the mental and psychological woes, real or imagined, have all begun to head south.

But… I love this place where God has placed me. I am secure. He is with me. I know his peace and his sustenance. I know my position and identities in this world are of no consequence, but Christ is. I also know my faith and trust in God are weak at best, but like Abraham of old, my faith does not waver because it is dependent on him.

And the best thing about this place – my inheritance? Christ is there. He is what makes my inheritance a beautiful place. Matthew Henry said: “Heaven is an inheritance. God himself is the inheritance of the saints there, whose everlasting bliss is to enjoy him. We must take that for our inheritance, our home, our rest, our lasting, everlasting, good, and look upon this world to be no more ours than the country through which our road lies when we are on a journey.” What a blessing it is to be in my inheritance, in Christ, and to be able to enjoy him throughout the journey of my life.

I give honour to God in Jesus Christ for my place in his pleasant and beautiful world.

Published by

mapatto

I am a Christian and my purpose in life is to give honour to the Lord Jesus Christ in all I do and say.

Leave a Reply

